Assessed post 1: Engagement with the creative process.

For this module, we have had to come up with a 10 minute TV show based around a pre conceived idea, my groups being weird and wonderful. We had to produce the TV show ourselves, as well as fill all the roles with different members of the group. We also had to individually make a website based around the show.

For the TV show, I was assigned the role of operating camera 1, meaning I was part of the team that was going to actually be filming the TV show, and following the ideas that the director wanted for our show. Operating a camera also gave me the chance to be able to suggest some of my own camera shots, or to try certain shots or compositions that I thought would look good, but hadn’t already been thought of by the director. My own ideas are really applied to the final performance that we had for our TV show, of a guitarist. Because we were aiming for a typical, chat show type of performance, where everything is really close up on the artist as well as doing a bit of tracking along their instrument or the rest of their band, I chose certain areas of our guest to focus on, such as his hands playing the guitar, and following them along the guitar, ending in a slow zoom out.

I also came up with the idea for some of the graphics that we have used, such as the leader board showing the scores after the presenters challenges, and the logo for our TV show. I decided to have a quick go at designing some possible graphics one day, since I knew that we would be needing them, and they have been used in both the TV show and the weird and wonderful Facebook page.

In terms of my website, I decided to follow on from the colour scheme that we had decided on for our TV set, so that the two elements would blend together and seem to be two parts of a whole. I also have designed the website in blocks, similar to that of our set, which was done again so that the two would blend in together.

Because our TV show mentions our twitter and facebok pages a lot, I decided to incorporate them into the website a lot. On each page, there is a section where the user can click through to our Facebook page and twitter page, as well as using a Facebook comment section so that they can vote on which challenge they would like to see the presenters do in the next edition of WWTV. Social networking is such a big part of not just TV, but our lives as a whole, that I thought it would be extremely important to have it featured throughout the website, just as it was heavily featured in the TV show.

I think that I engaged well with the creative process of this module, I always helped out with anything that needed doing, and gave an input into things like the set design, and as stated above, camera angles.

Leave a comment